JCVI: About / Scientific Leadership
Section Banner


Scientific Leadership

  J. Craig Venter, Ph.D.
Founder, Chairman, and Chief Executive Officer
  Karen E. Nelson, Ph.D.
Professor, Genomic Medicine Group
  Mark D. Adams, Ph.D.
Campus Director, La Jolla and Professor
  Rembert Pieper, Ph.D.
Campus Director, Rockville and Professor
  Robert M. Friedman, Ph.D.
Vice President for Policy and
University Relations, Policy Center
  William C. Nierman, Ph.D.
Professor, Infectious Disease Group 
  Richard H. Scheuermann, Ph.D.
Director of Informatics
Professor, Informatics
  Nicholas Schork, Ph.D.
Director of Human Biology
Professor, Genomic Medicine Group
  Hamilton O. Smith, M.D.
Scientific Director Synthetic Biology and Bioenergy
Distinguished Professor
  Christopher D. Town, Ph.D.
Professor, Plant Genomics Group